Case # AX-12-3 - AXMER - 

Chapter 12 - Lost Marker

Event: 11th Ladies World Cup & 9th Akwawit Cup, Leszno, Poland
AX-12-3 Complaint Letter

In Task 8 I got a time extension and I found the marker with the observer.  The women showed the observer the marker position, and she gave the marker to the observer inside the extended time. 

I think the result is not the next marker position.  The result is the least advantageous interpretation of evidence available. .
Competitor 

AX-12-3 Response to Complaint

Due to following reasons the marker in task #8 HZW of Pilot #11 was considered to be measured to his following marker position:

Rule 15.3.3 says that a pilots result is the distance from mark to nearest target, if displayed, or goal; in order to receive a mark there is either an observed mark according to rule 12.12.1 or an assessed result according to rule 12.15.2 necessary.

A mark has to be measured by an official or observer to achieve a result.

A marker has to be seen on the ground by an official or observer to get an assessed result based on the least advantage interpretation of evidence available.

A civil person is not qualified to do so according to the rules.

The complaint of pilot #11 is dismissed.

Competition Director 

AX-12-3 Protest Letter

Re: Result of Task #8

In Task #8 I got the time extension and found the marker with the observer.  The women showed the observer the marker position and she gave the marker to the Observer inside the extended time.  I think the result is not the next marker position.  Rule 12.12.1 says a mark which has been measured by the Official or Observer.  The Observer gave evidence for the marker position and made a measurement (see the Observer Report Sheet).

Jury obtained the protest with $50 USD Banknote.

Competitor 

AX-12-3 Jury Decision

After hearing the pilot, Event Director, Deputy Director, Debriefer and Observer the Jury decided not to uphold the protest.  

Reasons for the decision

1) The marker was not seen on the ground by an official.

2) Rule 12.15.2 clearly states, that the competitor's scoring position will be his following (in time) marker position or landing position, which ever is better, in case the marker has not been seen on the ground by an official or observer.

The decision was unanimous.  The protest fee is not returned. 
The Jury 

